Posted by: Joan Spiller | June 7, 2010

Cooking terminology – A guide


I know I occasionally use terms that may not make sense to people who are new to cooking and so with that in mind, here’s a list of some of the terms I often use ! I will update it with things as and when you send me gripes comments asking what the heck “such and such” means! A classic example is what I mean when I use a lower case letter vs an upper case letter in my recipes. So, without further ado – here are some explanations of things I commonly use in my recipes:

t  = teaspoon
T = Tablespoon
c = cup

1/4lb of butter = 1 stick

The “holy trinity” is processed garlic, ginger and chilli.
Available from your local supermarket, oddly its often in the vege dept.

Food and Kitchen definitions <- this site contains just about every single word ever uttered in a kitchen, check it out!

Happy Cooking!

Responses

  1. I can’t cook well but am tempted to try some of your recipes! Do you have a simple 1 for pumpkin soup?

    Like

    • I sure do – I have 2 .. one that’s very sexy (done in the pumpkin!) and one that’s nice and simple. Will type up both later k .. in fact I will make one today (the simple one) and post a pic too! 🙂

      Like

    • oops I made vegetable soup instead. Will make punkin and carrot soup today .. gotta love Winter for soups and hot buttery toast huh!

      Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

