Posted by: Joan Spiller | June 9, 2010

Choc nut cookies – Recipe


Without a doubt these are the nicest cookies on earth. Bold claim I hear you say .. Well I stand by it! Try them and you will see why ..

Joan’s super yummy choc nut cookies

1/2c butter (115g)
1/4c raw sugar (50g)
1/2c brown sugar (75g)
1 large free range egg
(yeah yeah, I know – it’s one of my pet peeves -/ hens are people too!)
1t vanilla essence
1 & 1/8 c plain flour (I have no idea what that is in g’s – try Google!)
1/2t baking soda
A pinch of salt
1c choc chips (I prefer dark – aren’t they health food?)
1/2c chopped (roughly) walnuts or pecans
(in recent years I’ve become fond of pecans .. they’re sweeter than walnuts and seem less prone to going rancid)

Pre heat the oven to 180 deg C

Cream butter and sugars.
Whisk eggs (just to mix ’em up a bit) and vanilla ess.
Add to creamed mixture.

Sift dry ingredients into the creamed mixture.

Add chocolate chips, nuts etc
(I say etc cos I use chunked up bits of a bar of choc leftover or broken up choc buttons – whatever works for ya! I’ve added coconut thread before and it’s good!)

I tend to jump into the bowl with both hands here, and mix it all up. It looks like a dry dough but if you mix it with your hands it is perfectly fine.

Place heaped spoonfuls onto a greased cold baking tray, approx. 2 inches apart.

Bake for 10 mins .. do not let them get brown .. you want them slightly pale .. they harden once they are cool.
But are chewy inside if ya do it right 😉

See below for today’s batch:

Enjoy!

Responses

  1. Yummy… they look good!

    Like

  2. I have made these and they are GREAT, gooey if I undercooked them and chewy if I did them perfectly – all good either way hahah

    Like

  3. It’s the pecans that make the cookie. Shudder at the thought of walnuts!!(G).

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

