Posted by: Joan Spiller | September 16, 2010

Vege Curry – Recipe


So I’m viciously hungover tonight thanks to a contractor networking session that went particularly well (til 5am this morning anyway!) last night. Got home ever so slightly jaded feeling after a 10 hour day and whilst starving, tis fair to say cooking wasn’t high on my list of fun things to do!  Having had fried food several times thru’ the day to help soak up some of the red wine I had sloshing around in my blood, I wanted something a bit healthier .. And this is what I did:

3 cups stir fry veges (i.e. cut into julienne strips – I buy mine ready done shhh!)
1 shallot (or onion would do)
1 tsp chilli, ginger and garlic paste
1/2 tsp of each of the following: cinnamon, garam masala,  tumeric, salt and pepper
1 can (400g) of coconut cream

Soften the onion in a pan (one pot cookery time! So make it a large fry pan) add in the garlic, ginger and chilli and stir to combine.
In a bowl toss the spices, salt and pepper thru the veges.
Chuck the veges into the fry pan. Stir.
Add the coconut cream. Stir s’more.
Ideally, I’d have put in 2T tomato paste but it really doesn’t need it.. Just makes it look nicer in colour.
Tastes great without it tho and I was in a hurry 😉

I bulked this up with a cup of cooked macaroni elbows which was really good as it soaked up the cream and the flavours! Otherwise, serving it with rice would be good but again, I was in a hurry – keep up will ya! 

Qty wise – this would give you 3 big serves.

Enjoy!

Responses

  1. You forgot the ham hock!!(G)

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

