Posted by: Joan Spiller | January 30, 2011

Pecan Pah – Recipe


There are times I look thru’ the various recipes that I’ve scribbled down out of a magazine or cook book and I wonder to myself “What the heck..?” as I try to recall the logic behind my shorthand.. This recipe falls into that category however I KNOW the person who gave it to me will correct me if I have it wrong – so check the comments after I post 😉

Pecan Pie ala James in Texas

1/2c butter
2c sugar
2t vanilla essence
3 free range eggs
3T white flour
1c buttermilk*
1c pecans
1/4t  salt

1x 9 inch pie shell (unbaked)**

The recipe as I have it jotted down then goes like this:

300 degs / 90 mins. Cream, eggs, dry then milk. Nuts last.

Indeed! LOL

Having made this a time or two before – I vaguely recall it goes like this:

Cream butter, sugar and vanilla essence.
Add eggs and continue to beat.
Sift dry ingredients into the creamed mixture.
Lastly add buttermilk and stir to combine.

Fold nuts into the batter then pour into the pie shell and bake at 300 degrees for 90 minutes or until pie is set.

Serve room temp or warm (not straight from the oven) with vanilla cream and / or whipped cream. SO good!

*Buttermilk – I get a cup of milk and put 1T white vinegar in it then shake it. That makes for a nice soured milk mix which does the trick.
**Pie shell – I made my own. Just lined a pie dish with sweet short pastry.

This one differs from the corn syrup recipe which is sticky and gorgeous. This is somehow cakey and sweet and nutty and delish but be aware it is different to the one most people make..

Responses

  1. Fresh pecans make all the difference. What we have left we put in the freezer and eat cold. Like eating candy!

    Like

    • Do they really, James? Hmm well .. I have heaps here in the freezer and am not gonna complain – they’re better than going without!! *grins* PS what is this “LEFTOVERS” you speak of?? 🙂

      Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

