Posted by: Joan Spiller | March 7, 2011

Blue Cheese Scones – Recipe


So one of my fave people at work requested I make blue cheese scones as part of my fund raising efforts for the CHCH quake. (Bake sales are such a good way to raise money!) Never made ’em before but I figured it couldn’t be that hard..

Using the same recipe as before, I just stuffed the dough with chunks of blue cheese and kinda smooshed a bit on the top of the whole lot before cutting it into the shapes I wanted to cook ’em in ..

Therefore my newly minted blue cheese scone recipe is as follows:

3c self raising white flour
1c cream
1c lemonade

Mix together, adding salt, pepper and cayenne to taste (1/2t of each would be tons). 

Roll out and add the blue cheese, I used Castello, Danish blue. Mellow but yum.. And vegetarian 😉

Bake on a greased oven tray, in a pre heated oven @ 200 degs for 10-12 mins til golden on top.

Allow to cool for 15 mins or so, before serving slathered in butter.

Enjoy!

 

Responses

  1. Joan is a veritable Ningen Kokuho (those individuals certified as Preservers of Important Intangible Cultural Properties) – I’m sure there’s a Maori term for this (if not, there should be). Her cooking skills are ‘par excellance’ and her commitment to worthy causes is second to none. Besides, her blue scones are amazingly tasty. I feel sorry (well, sort of) for those of you who can’t partake of Joan’s cooking (more for me, hee hee).
    – a ‘Fave person’…

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

