Posted by: Joan Spiller | March 7, 2011

Scones – Recipe


It’s a well known fact that I am not thaaaaat good at following recipes. I feel they are more there for inspiration vs. instruction. So I read them, steal them, copy them – heck I love them.. but I very much tend to ‘tweak’ as I go.

This is one recipe, however that I always follow cos it really is impossible to screw up and needs no improvement. And better yet – it has only 3 ingredients!

No Fail Scones

3c self raising white flour (the self rising bit is critical)
1c cream
1c lemonade*

Sift the flour into a large bowl, add the liquids and mix quickly but gently. They key to scone making is not to bash the ever loving heck out of the dough. And don’t over mix or it’ll go tough.

Once the bulk of the mixture is ‘tacky’ i.e sticking together, dump the lot onto a floured bench and continue to combine it, using a little flour to help if the mix is wet. I find 1/3c of flour is plenty for this task so don’t go overboard.

Gently roll (I just squish it with the heel of my hand) the dough flat – you want it at least 1.5inches high tho so not too flat – and cut into even sized pieces.

Place each piece spaced out a little on a greased oven tray and bake in a preheated oven at 190 degs for 12 mins tops. If you want to, bathe them in egg wash (simply beat an egg yolk and brush the tops) before baking. Looks gorgeous but SO doesn’t matter if you leave it off.

To make these savoury: simply chuck in some chives, parsley, cheese, salt, pepper and cayenne before commencing the knead and roll bit .. Or just whack a bit of cheese on top of each one before popping in the oven.

*I save up the flat lemonade that always seems to happen and it works fine. You can also use diet lemonade to drop the sugar content if you want these to be diabetic. It works fine.

Responses

  1. […] – Recipe I’ve already posted my recipe for scones but today’s batch are a bit experi-mental and they turned out great so I wanted to […]

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

