Posted by: Joan Spiller | April 3, 2011

Sichuan Tofu – Recipe


Again, all credit to Mindi for this recipe. Tis fair to say I’m beyond delighted at how much I’m learning doing this course.

All my life, Asian food has fascinated me but being vegetarian: it’s just been easier to stay away from it – largely due to the heavy use of things such as fish sauce and other fishy flavours plus I’d eaten bland tofu one time too many and didn’t see how it could be anything else..  Well NOW I know better.

Some of you may recall my blog post about how to disguise tofu so it’s edible – this recipe takes it to awhole new level of yum!

Sichuan tofu

500g firm tofu
1T chopped garlic
1T chopped ginger
3T Hoisin sauce (I used Lee Kum Kee brand)
1t Chilli bean sauce
1t sugar
1 small red capsicum
3T bean sauce
1t sesame oil
1/2c water

Drain and pat the tofu dry. Cut into 1cm cubes.
Cut the capsicum into similar sized chunks. This just goes in at the end to add crunch and colour 🙂
In a bowl, mix the sauces, oil, sugar and water. Set aside.

Heat 3T oil (rice bran) in a wok and fry the tofu til they’re coloured on as many sides as you can. Push the tofu to one side, add a little more oil to the pan if needed, and gently saute the garlic and ginger. You don’t want colour – you want them to melt .. So slow heat is needed here..

Add the sauce then stir the lot together. Simmer gently covered for 10 mins. Stir now and then..

Toss the capsicum through the tofu sauce mix for 1 min, to warm it up.

Serve immediately, with steamed rice. Or do what I did, and scoff from the wok, refusing to share with anyone..

This is the nicest way I’ve ever eaten tofu, in my life. And believe me – I’ve tried and tried it in different ways!

Enjoy 🙂

Responses

  1. […] of you may recall I once blogged about attending some cooking classes in Wellington. These were held by a fabulously talented lady called Mindi.. So tis fair to say when I saw the […]

    Like

  2. Looks yummy!

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

