Posted by: Joan Spiller | April 18, 2011

Cheating – When is it OK?


So we’ve many of us done it.. Done what, I hear you ask .. Cheated. Yep .. the ultimate big baddie: the *C* word..

Sure, we may sugar coat it. Call it something else .. but at the end of the day, it’s cheating. Isn’t it?

Which brings me neatly to my next question ..

When (if ever) is cheating okay?”

Let me back up a little. Tonight for dinner I’m having a lovely spicy and flavoursome potato, onion, capsicum and misc. vege curry, for dinner. I may serve it with rice. Or maybe I’ll just use leftover french bread to mop up the sauce .. we’ll see how I feel at the time.

But when I MADE said curry, I *whisper* .. well, I cheated .. Yep, I used a ‘pre-mixed’ curry powder.

Here is a pic of said curry powder:

 Baba’s Meat Curry Powder

Yep. A meat curry powder. I KNOW!

But tis ok, I checked and it contains: No MSG, has 100% natural ingredients. It’s a cholesterol free food. It is made up of: Coriander, Chilli, Cumin, Turmeric, Fennel, Dhal, Fenugreek, Pepper, Cinnamom, Cardamom, Star Anise and cloves.

NO traces of meat. Phew ..


This stuff (Greggs) on the other hand, is made up of coriander seed, tumeric, cumin, fenugreek, ginger, black pepper, mustard, cassia, cayenne pepper and cloves. And is the other ‘cheating’ ingredient in some dishes.

But oh GOD how foul would that dinner be if you got it wrong lol

Curry powder ala Greggs – great for curried eggs. I cannot think of anything else .. can you?

This Baba’s meat curry pdr tho .. wow! The flavour is out of this world delicious. It’s spicy, a little hot, a little sexy – no pain, just flavour and then some.. As are the dishes one can make using it! Seriously!

I will post a recipe or two soon, on how I used this fabulous product. For now tho, ya’ll best hope the wonderful Soo Lee* manages to find me some in Singapore during her current holiday or there will be BIG dramas playing out in a few weeks time!!!

* Soo Lee is the most fabulous BA a PM could hope for! Currently on hols in Singapore with a shopping list from me .. grins

Responses

  1. Ah, you’ve got to have shortcuts! 🙂 I love my green curry paste, makes a few vegies into something fabulous. And there are so many others – some things it’s worth doing from scratch but sometimes the shortcut is just as good!

    Like

    • Curry pastes annoy me cos they have shrimp in them – so as a vegetarian they’re no good but HOW I wish they were cos as you say: they do make for quick and tasty meals, I know!

      Like

  2. […] more from the original source: Cheating – When is it OK? « Because life is for the living.. Posted in General Tags: amazing, amazing-recipe, asian, cookery-class, going-ever, her-name, […]

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

