Posted by: Joan Spiller | April 26, 2011

Pumpkin Soup – Recipe


adore punkin soup, as does CJ ~and so I’ve made many a different variant of it in my lifetime but this one is without a doubt the best pumpkin soup I’ve ever tasted in my life. 

It sort of needs to be one of those ‘special’ occasion soups as it has some fairly expensive ingredients in it (to say nothing of some significant calories!) but you have got to try it at least once, just so you too can say you’ve eaten Paul Bocuse’s Pumpkin Soup.

1 x 6 to 8 lb (3 to 4 kg) pumpkin
1 c toasted croutons (I make my own but you can use bought ones if you prefer)
4 oz (100 g) grated gruyere cheese
Salt and pepper to taste – I use black pepper but a perfectionist would use white.
A grating of fresh nutmeg
12 cups (3 quarts, 3 L) cream

Cut the top off the pumpkin so that the pumpkin can be used as the serving dish!

Set the top aside. Remove the seeds and ensure the inside is completely empty of ‘gunk’.

Alternate layers of the croutons and gruyere.

Add salt and pepper to each layer. Finishing with a good sprinkling of both plus the nutmeg then fill with cream. 
Don’t overfill or the lid won’t fit. 

Close the “tureen” as tightly as possible with the top of the pumpkin.  

Place in a large, deep baking dish and bake in a 425F / 220C oven for 2 hours.

Serve the pumpkin to the table with a bit of pomp and appropriate ceremony. It looks SO grand when you serve it from the pumpkin, trust me 🙂

Now a word to the wise: The first time I made this gorgeous soup, the pumpkin had a melt down and caved in right there in front of everyone, at the dinner table.

I had a bunch of friends over, all seated, spoons @ the ready – in anticipation of this gourmet treat I had been banging on about for days .. So you can imagine their dismay as a lava flow of boiling pumpkin, cream and melted cheese raced across the table, toward them.

And then imagine the scene a moment later when I recovered and starting shrieking at them: “don’t just sit there, catch it” .. sheesh that was our 1st course running away from us!

Next thing, we’re all scooping the soup into bowls off the edge of the table, burning ourselves, ruining my table cloth and generally causing chaos .. mm, NOT quite the elegant entree I’d envisaged .. but we got there in the end!I now stand the pumpkin in a large oven proof dish that I then use to serve from as a precautionary measure 😉

Serves 8 to 10, freezes well and trust me – even if you’re not a fan of gruyere, you will love this..

Leave a Reply

Categories

