Posted by: Joan Spiller | May 11, 2011

Hamburgers – Recipe


So everyone loves burgers, right? I know I do .. there’s something about a good burger that’s impossible to pass up 😉

But what defines a “good” burger? A sesame bun with a (may contain traces of) meat patty and some pickle + plastic cheese? I think not..

The epitome of a delicious burger for me is one that has good quality buns (life is just too short for budget bread!), my fave (Check it out here..) mayo, melting cheese. Onions. Avocado. Fried egg (yolk broken and not at all runny!) Fresh tomato. Red capsicum.  Tomato sauce / Ketchup / Relish .. Oh and Lettuce..

Obviously more can go in, but this is the bare minimum for me to go “Yeah baby” when I scoff my burger. Let me think, what else might I add to my ‘ultimate’ burger?’

The addition of pickled beetroot immediately takes me back 20yrs to burger joints in Hawke’s Bay where it was possible to get a good juicy burger and they always had pineapple and beetroot.

I used to ask for no pineapple, but never said no to the beetroot. The sweet juicy thing of pineapple in a burger is lost to my taste buds I’m afraid. Bit like putting it on pizza. Why why why would you?

Similarly, I can take or leave pickled gherkins. I think I’d prefer to leave..

If I was a meat eater, I would want either beautifully cooked steak, sliced thinly so I got a bit in each mouthful.. I’d probably want some bacon. Not crispy. Juicy, would be my preference.

Moreso, though – I’d probably (harking back to my being a junk meat eater if I weren’t a vego) adore the ol’ meat patty with lashings of tomato sauce on top.

So, to make my burger into something a meat eater would also say is yum, you will need:

500g beef mince – as always, the best you can afford.
1t salt
1t pepper
2T tomato sauce
1 small onion – finely diced
1/3c white plain flour (or wholemeal, up to you) put a pinch of salt into the flour
1 egg – free range
Oil for frying

Put the mince into a bowl, add the salt, pepper, sauce, onion and get your hands in there and mix it all together. Add the egg and continue to mix. Form into “burger bun” sized patties and roll in the seasoned flour. Be sure to shake off excess flour.

Fry the patties in a little oil, til they are golden brown on both sides, drain on paper towels and add to your burger..

Now don’t be tempted to make these patties too big. Ideally, you want the recipient of the burger not to wear it when they eat it, right?

And think about all the other goodies you’re going to put into the bun – yeah, you got it: keep the burger patty thin (cooks faster too!) and manageable. No one will complain when it’s nestled amid all the other goodies you’re going to put in the burger.

Don’t forget to check out my vege burger recipe – just click here for more tips on what I think makes the ultimate vego-burger!

Oh and one final tip: Eat whilst wearing old clothes, so the tomato sauce stains doesn’t matter so much 😉

Leave a Reply

Categories

