Posted by: Joan Spiller | May 18, 2011

Smoked mushroom risotto – Recipe


I’ve adapted this recipe a couple of times since I originally made it, so thought I had better update the recipe here. The mere thought of this dish makes my mouth water, so do give it a go – even if you’re not a big mushroom fan.

No one could be more scared of mushies than I used to be.. but this is light, flavoursome and gorgeous compared to some mushroom dishes..

Following the usual way of making risotto you will need:

1 litre vegetable stock (I used Campbells salt reduced and it was fine)
250g arborio rice – recently I’ve been using carnaroli rice .. either works great but I have found the carnaroli rice holds it shape better in risotto
1 can Campbells cream of mushroom soup
6 large portobello mushrooms (or swiss browns)
2 onions (I used white but have also used red – either is fine)
1 clove garlic (whole, but peeled)
butter and oil (lots) to saute onions in
1 packet of *wine smoked mushrooms 
1c dry white wine
1c grated parmesan + parmesan for garnish

Saute the finely diced onion and garlic in at least 60g of butter and oil.

Add the rice and then the stock, 1/4c at a time .. stirring often. This is the boring bit but has to be done!

In a separate pan, saute the sliced portobellos on high heat – you want a bit of colour here. Add in the white wine and reduce. Lastly add the can of soup and set this mixture aside.

Once the rice is cooked, add the mushroom mixture then stir in the grated parmesan. Serve on warm plates with a few mushrooms on top & some shaved parmesan.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

*Note the mushrooms cost $10 a packet but are so good! Every time I am in HB I go and visit Noel at the HB Farmer’s Market. But I am thrilled that I can buy his magical mushies at Moore Wilson’s so do not have to go without in between visits to the Bay! However if you work out the total cost of this meal: I guess $15-$20 or so to feed 4 isn’t exactly pricey huh..

Responses

  1. […] personal fave of mine is smoked mushrooms..  heavenly! My brother makes one with chicken & tomato […]

    Like

  2. […] list used to include Risotto, Spring rolls and Beef Wellington however I’ve actually felt the fear and cooked ‘em […]

    Like

  3. […] cheese topped with a chunk of my fave mushrooms <– click to view these babies – these are available in many places and online now […]

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

