Posted by: Joan Spiller | May 23, 2011

Lemon ‘vinaigrette’ – Recipe


Here is a simple but delicious dressing for those last few salads we can sneak in here (on our side of the planet) – before lettuce becomes ridiculously over priced and we have to switch to winter greens for our veges.

I well recall the first time I made my own dressing & salad, I was around 8yrs old and so proud of myself! I had NO idea that lettuce “dissolves” if dressed too soon. Made the family a bunch of things for lunch, including this beautiful lettuce salad that I’d dressed and chucked in the fridge for an hour or so.

Imagine the tears when I got it out of the fridge only to find it had gone limp and was completely inedible! That’s when I learned that salads are like men. They get dressed 2-3 seconds before being required and not a moment sooner 🙂

Anyway enough of that, here’s the recipe – enjoy!

  • fresh lemon juice
  • light olive oil (1:1 ratio with the lemon juice)
  • salt (about 1/4 t per lemon)
  • pepper (about 1/8 t per lemon)
  • sugar  (about 3/4 t per lemon.. or to taste) if you cannot use sugar – go for runny hunny!

Put in a jar, seal well and shake .. Like many of my recipes: this is simple and tasty and if you’re avoiding vinegar: perfecto!

Leave a Reply

Categories

