Posted by: Joan Spiller | June 4, 2011

Spiced Nuts – Recipe


I have many vivid memories of visits to my grandparents when I was a child. One of them is of Nan standing in the kitchen holding out an agee preserving jar that was always (and I mean, always! She had an unlimited supply of them it seemed!) filled with the most delightfully spiced, sweet walnuts.

Walnuts from their 80+yr old tree in the yard.

Even tho we’d always be offered them, it somehow always seemed a bit of a treat and even know when I go to visit them, the offering is made. Heck who am I kidding, now I’m an adult, I know where the jar is kept so I help myself 😉

I have made them a couple of times, they’re a bit fiddly but oh so good and as far as protein levels .. well it’s nuts with egg white, hello!

1 egg white at room temperature
1/2c packed brown sugar
2T ground cinnamon
1t ground cloves
1t ground ginger
1T vanilla extract
1lb (500g) walnut halves or pieces – whatever you have. FYI I now make these with a mixture of pecans and walnuts.. almonds are good too!

Preheat oven to 300 degrees F (150 degrees C).

Coat a baking sheet with cooking spray.

In a large bowl, beat egg white until foamy.

Stir in brown sugar, cinnamon, cloves, ginger, and vanilla.

Add nuts, and stir to coat. Spread evenly onto prepared pan.

Bake for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally, or until toasted and golden in colour.

Remove from oven, and cool completely. Store in an airtight container or jars.

Or sit and scoff the lot?

Responses

  1. […] harvested walnuts from the ancient tree in their yard. And even better – a handful or jar of Nana’s spiced walnuts, hidden away in the depths of her […]

    Like

  2. Oh those would be so great on so many things!

    Like

    • Or be lazy like me and just scoff them (grins) They’re such a nice little ‘sweet’ treat when you feel like something delicious but not too big, if that makes sense? But yes, imagine them crumbled on top of stewed fruit wow .. delish!

      Like

  3. Ah, you knew I’ed keep this one(G)

    Like

    • Yep . . and I have a triple batch in the oven right now .. Almonds, Pecans and Walnuts! YUM!

      Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

