Posted by: Joan Spiller | June 11, 2011

Protein Patties – Recipe


Now I know we’ve already discussed my loathing of any recipe that uses adjectives such as: “super dooper healthy” or “Low fat / low cal” or “Protein packed” – cos generally that means whatever it is, it tastes like feet.

So really, this should be called “Falafel” cos that’s what I ended up with – but the protein and goodness element of this recipe is worth banging on about for a bit, I feel!

All too often healthy, nutritious food lacks taste. Or has an odd texture. Or can only be eaten with lashings of sauce or something to disguise how vile it is. As we get access to more and more products here in NZ, that is happening less I’ll admit but I can well recall some of Mum’s experiments and they woz not good.

As well, I trawl websites and blogs for recipe ideas and omigoodness some are just nasssty!

In this instance I was trying to come up with a way of getting a ton of protein and goodness into something tasty that CJ would enjoy eating. She’s doing that high protein / lowish carb diet I mentioned earlier.

And boy did I nail it – these babies are out of this world delicious! (CJ hopefully will back me up here lol)

It looks like a lot of ‘stuff’ to bother with – something that generally puts me off a recipe – but in this case you simply need to open cans or soak beans or scoop spices .. the food processor does the rest!

So – give these a go and let me know how you get on..

1c chick peas – soaked in cold water overnight. Dispose of the soaking water, before using..
1c cooked brown lentils
1c cooked quinoa
1c pecans (but you could use any nut, except probably peanuts)
1/2c flaxseed (ground linseeds)
1/2c chick pea flour (garam flour / besan)
10 mushrooms (raw)
1/2t each: cumin, garam masala, chilli pdr, tumeric, ginger, salt and black pepper
1 large raw onion
1 clove garlic – peeled
1 sprig rosemary – I just bunged it all in, stem and all!
1 large bunch parsley (stalks an’ all)
3 free range eggs
1/3c olive oil

First I pulsed the chickpeas, lentils, nuts, onion,  garlic and spices. Then I added the herbs and mushrooms – pulsed til they were nicely mixed ..

The mixture is quite dry and crumbly at this stage. The I put in the eggs and added the flour, flaxseed and oil.

Done!

Honestly, it was that simple ..

To cook – simply shape into balls and fry in hot oil until golden. CJ had these last night and said they were good but next ones she cook she’ll flatten a bit more – they are best crunchy I feel ..
PS I cooked the lentils and quinoa in stock with a clove garlic and some onion. I discarded the stock that wasn’t soaked in but I threw the onion and garlic into the blender..

Responses

  1. […] below, it looks like a lot of effort but it really isn’t .. Actually reminds me a bit of this recipe I made up some time back too […]

    Like

  2. […] below, it looks like a lot of effort but it really isn’t .. Actually reminds me a bit of this recipe I made up some time back too […]

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

