Posted by: Joan Spiller | June 11, 2011

Stuffed Dates – Recipe


Growing up, I was terrified of dates. To me, they looked like dehydrating cockroach bodies and nothing – even extreme hunger – would compel me to eat one.

Fortunately, in my 20’s my taste buds kicked into gear and I stopped being a complete drop kick – well, with regard to food anyway. And I now love dates.

Despite their sweetness, medjool dates only contain about 66 calories each. They are a good source of fibre and contain high levels of potassium, magnesium, copper and manganese.

You can do all sorts of things with these “jewels” as they’re known. Medjool dates, I mean..

My fave is to split them (they’re huge, so this isn’t as tedious as it sounds) check that the pip has been removed and stuff them with a mixture of my fave blue cheese and some chopped almonds.. Simple huh!

You can also get a bit carried away if you want to and mix cream cheese, mascarpone, blue cheese, chives and nuts together and pipe this mixture into the date from the ‘end’, so it is served whole and you bite into this cheesy, creamy, pungent mixture.

Not yet had anyone find this anything other than a delight to eat.  Leave the blue cheese out if you’re squeamish and use paprika instead .. SO good.

So, don’t be like me – too scared to eat these babies. Enjoy them as an alternative dessert next time you have a dinner party. Your friends will think you’re frightfully clever .. shh we won’t tell them how simple it was!

Leave a Reply

Categories

