Posted by: Joan Spiller | June 23, 2011

Rhubarb, Pecan & Apple muffins – Recipe


So I am a fan of rhubarb but only when it’s sweetened to within an inch of its life, therefore I tend not to have it too-oo often. However I was given some this weekend so I decided to make a batch of muffins to see how they came out and I was pleased!

I cut my rhubarb a bit too finely, 1cm chunks dissolved. Which worked for me but I think it’d be nicer as 1inch chunks. The best bit? There’s none of that dry teeth, pucker up mouth feel thing when you eat these babies!

6 stalks of rhubarb cut into 1inch chunks (approx. 1c raw)
1c diced apple
1/2c pecans
1/2c brown sugar
2T butter
2.5c self raising flour with 1t cinnamon sifted through it
1/2c milk with 1t vinegar or lemon juice in it (this will sour the milk, don’t panic)
1/2c white sugar
2 eggs

Put the butter and brown sugar in a small pot on a medium heat. Add the rhubarb and then cover with a lid in order to capture the steam.

After a few minutes, remove the lid and crank the heat up til the sugar and butter caramelises to your taste. I prefer mine not too brown .. Stir occasionally.

In a sep pan, roast some chopped pecans until golden. Add to the rhubarb mixture and stir in the apples.

In a large bowl, whisk the eggs and sugar until white and creamy. Sift in the flour and cinnamon.

Gently fold the fruit mixture through the batter, adding the milk last.

Spoon into lined muffin trays and bake in a pre-heated oven at 175 degs for 12-15 mins until golden.

Serve warm with a dusting of icing sugar.

Freezes fine and keeps well due to the moisture content .. better yet: Everyone seemed to think they were pretty yummy.

Responses

  1. […] Muffins are something I have baked literally thousands of. CJ would always have one in her lunch each day as a kid. (I’d bake a big batch, freeze them & pop 1 in her lunchbox so it thawed thru the day AND acted as a cooling device for the rest of her lunch) so I tend to be fairly blase in my approach. Hiff a bit of that or the other in and hope for the best. And generally it works out well.. Not always but we won’t talk about those times today! […]

    Like

  2. I just made these (using wholemeal flour) and they are really lovely! Perfect with a morning cuppa!!

    Like

    • I am so glad you liked them. They’re tasty aren’t they!

      Like

  3. Got to find someone to make this for me. Sounds delish.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

