Posted by: Joan Spiller | July 9, 2011

Potato Galette – Recipe


J’aime la galette, savez-vous comment ? Quand elle est bien faite, avec du beurre dedans..

I wanted to make something savoury for morning tea the other day but not the usual .. then I dreamed up this recipe! It’s not original, I’ve made similar before but this one turned out really well I though ..

You could use any type of spud, I used red skinned ones just cos I thought they looked pretty. I know. I’m tragic 😉

To make enough for 2 people as a small snack (so really, you’d wanna double this!) you will need:

1 flaky pastry sheet (ready rolled / shop bought is fine)
1 potato – scrubbed and par-boiled so it’s tender but not mooshy
1t tomato paste
1t chilli sauce (or sambal for a kick)
1t best quality tomato sauce (I used my fave “red sauce” )
1t finely chopped rosemary
1 small onion – finely diced
Salt and pepper to taste (I salted the potatoes as they cooked and peppered the dish before putting in the oven)
Olive oil to drizzle
Beaten egg to glaze the pastry – optional but it does make it look gorgeous!
Few bits of rosemary to garnish

Pre-heat oven to 210degs fan bake (i.e. HOT)

On a greased oven try, lay the sheet of pastry. Score around the edge (about 1cm in from the edge) this forms a “side” as it rises higher than the base.

Mix the sauce ingredients (incl onion) together and spread over the pastry. It’s meant to be a thin smear, don’t panic. This is for taste not as a saucey base.

Layer the pre-cooked spuds neatly, overlapping ideally, in rows (not to the edges .. just inside the cut mark) drizzle with olive oil, season (and glaze the edges, if you’re doing that) then bake til risen and golden brown.

Cut into squares and serve garnished with the fresh rosemary!

So good .. so simple and you could do all manner of things with this same concept.

Sweet .. using mascapone as the ‘sauce’. Or on the savoury theme – add a layer of salami or ham under the spuds. Or gruyere cheese and spuds.

Imagine this done with finely diced onion and cheese .. Yum I’m starved now!

Oh and to explain the piccie – I cooked mine the day before I used them, so I scattered the herbs over them and let them ‘marinate’, for extra flavour. Totally not ness, but it did enhance the depth of flavour so over to you if you wanna do that. It starts to get a bit complicated if you have to do something the day before, for a simple dish tho ..

Leave a Reply

Categories

