Posted by: Joan Spiller | July 11, 2011

Caprese Salad – Recipe


I still recall the first time I was served this dish. It was in a popular (read: trendy) restaurant in Auckland, NZ. I had NO idea what it was but the menu rabbited on about cheese, tomato and basil – all of which I like, so I ordered it ..

A bread and butter sized plate was presented, with a couple of soggy bits of mozarella cheese, a slab or 2 of almost ripe tomato and 3 small basil leaves. I was underwhelmed and never ordered it again..

Recently I had the pleasure of being served this gorgeous platter of heaven (see the slight change in attitood?) by someone who knows good Italian food and since then I’ve become a bit of a piglet whenever I see this dish served anywhere. 

It’s very simple, all you need is RIPE (and I mean it, don’t get those “may contain traces of red” tomatoes so often on sale) tomatoes, lots of basil leaves (either ravage your garden or buy a packet of washed and ready to use leaves – this isn’t just a plate of food, it’s an experience. Pay for it accordingly!) and of course: the best quality mozarella cheese you can afford.

And I don’t mean the pear shaped garbage in the supermarket, I mean freshly made mozzarella. Trust me, it’s worth the money!

Arrange layers of the 3 as per the pic. Drizzle with gorgeous olive oil, a sprinkle of freshly ground black pepper and some flaky sea salt.

And try to share .. I bet you won’t be able to 😉

Responses

  1. One of my favorite dishes of all time!

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

