Posted by: Joan Spiller | July 15, 2011

Cheese Cakes – Recipes


You know those recipes that immediately transport you back to your childhood? This is mine .. I saw them in a cafe in Wgtn this week and it reminded me .. Each year, my family would spend the Summer at Mahia.

And I would make these by the dozen. Only problem? They never ever lasted lol .. they are so good..

For reasons I am unaware of, they’re called “Cheesecakes”.. They contain NO cheese.
I know!

To make these, all you  need is:

200g flaky pastry
3 T raspberry jam, mixed with 1T boiling water
125g soft butter
1/2c white sugar
1c white flour
1t baking powder
2 eggs, beaten with a fork

Roll out the pastry to 2 mm thickness. Cut out rounds and line your patty tins. Don’t use the silicone thingies, I suspect these need the ghastly old aluminium trays!

Place 1/2 teaspoon of jam into each pastry case and set aside.

In a large bowl cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy.

Sift flour and baking powder together then add to the creamed mixture alternately with the eggs.

Stir to mix, til all is combined..

Spoon a large amount of the mixture onto each pastry case (with the jam in’ em)

To be completely authentic (i.e.: to remind me of my childhood) you need to place a little piece of the pastry off cuts on top of the dough before baking the cakes..

Bake at 200°C for 15-20 minutes, until cooked.

Allow to chill and scoff!


 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. […] and it reminded me .. Each year, my family would spend the … … See original here: Cheese Cakes – Recipes « Because life is for the living.. ← A Great Coffee Shake Recipe A Guide to Healthy Dessert Recipes That Still Taste Good […]

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

