Posted by: Joan Spiller | July 26, 2011

Shortbread – Recipe


My Nanna Cissy (and it really annoys me that this is one of only a few references I can find online to her, via her husband, “Pop Percy” grr) anyway Nana always used to have shortbread in her tins when we’d visit her..

I managed to get a copy of the recipe she used and have made it many a time over the decades and it’s a goodie.

However, I can’t help myself – I have to tweak, experiment and fiddle with recipes. It’s just got to be done! So tonight I made shortbread and added a new ingredient completely. Ground almonds.

I also changed the method.. so it’s a bit simpler.

Shortbread really is one of those oh-so-simple things that if good: is awesome. But if it’s bad oh gosh it’s baaad ..

Try this recipe – you will be a hero!

200g softened salted butter (I cubed mine and chucked it in the pre-heating oven for 5 mins to soften down then beat it til creamy)
1c icing sugar
1c ground almonds
1c corn flour
1c plain (high grade) white flour

Soften the butter and whip (I used a whisk but a wooden spoon would do) – set aside.

Sift the dry ingredients, you will possibly end up with a little bit of almond ‘chaff’, just put it back in the container you store it in for another time..

I tipped the dry mix onto the bench after sifting it 3x (once would be fine, I am sure) and added the whipped butter to the centre then I gradually incorporated the butter into the dry mix.

It took awhile and honestly: at some stage you go “this is never gonna come together” but it will! It will form a moist and pliable dough. Roll it into a ball, wrap in cling film and chill for 30 mins.

Preheat your oven to 150 degs bake, not fan bake. Grease a tray with a little butter. And then roll out the dough and cut into even-sized pieces. I used a small pastry cutter .. I also poked lil holes in each piece to make them ‘authentico’ 😉

Bake for 12-15 mins til coloured but ONLY just! You do not want these to be brown cos they’ll go super hard and ick. When they’re golden they will harden to a beautiful crunchy biscuit. THAT is what you want!

Store in a sealed container .. ice and serve or eat as they are 😉

Leave a Reply

Categories

