Posted by: Joan Spiller | August 1, 2011

Omg, fresh pasta sucks!


So I attempted to make fresh pasta sheets today to go with the pasta sauce I’d made the day before. 00 flour was duly purchased. Eggs (free range of course) were on hand. As was a bit of salt and some gorgeous olive oil.

The recipe was followed with some diligence and the pasta sheets “came out” fine but omg they didn’t cook at all well..

I’m pleased to report the end dish – lasagne, came out fine but gosh it was hair-raising cooking the damn sheets before making said lasagne! Sheesh .. I can see why people opt to buy ready made stuff 😉

Tis fair to say if I’d not been a more seasoned ‘cook’, I’d have panicked and thrown the cooked sheets out.

However  I am made of sterner stuff, so I duly drained and applied said gloppy sheets into my lasagne and they came out fine. But heck .. I’d forgive anyone who threw ’em out when faced with what I had on display! (see pic)

One thing to remember – when mooshed into a yummy lasagne, no one can see if the odd sheet is a bit ‘haphazard’ k so never give up!

The taste will be good. The texture should be fine. So they’re a bit torn and tattered .. no one will notice when it’s all mixed in with sauce, mushrooms, corn and assorted tomatoey goodies ..

Trust me 😉

Responses

  1. Aww I’m so sorry! I’ve always wanted to make fresh pasta! What’s your recipe? Hopefully you’ll have better luck next time! Thanks for sharing! I’m new to blogging here and I just love how supportive and creative everyone is! If you have time, could you please check out my blog? http://shecooksandheeats.wordpress.com/ If you have any, I would love some advice 🙂

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

