Posted by: Joan Spiller | August 2, 2011

Quick & Dirty cheese scones – Recipe


Not so dirty, just to be clear! So I wanted a simple but fast savoury dish for dinner tonight… It was so simple I’m a little ashamed to post it ..

All I did was sift 2c high grade white flour with 1t baking powder, 1/2t plain salt, 1/3c of fresh ground black pepper + 1/2t cayenne pepper.

Then I grated in 50g of cold butter, added 1 egg (at room temp) and 1/3c milk. I beat the lot gently with a wooden spoon or you could use your fingers or a knife .. whatever.

Add in as much cheese as you want. I used tasty cheese and I grated it .. some 150g or so. I also added 50g of finely grated parmesan cheese. I also added in one finely sliced spring onion.. so could omit this if you need to / don’t have one.

Mixing the lot gently, I then split it into even sized portions onto a greased tray and bake at 200 degs C for 10 mins or so, ’til golden on top and cooked thru.

Leave to sit for 10 mins before splitting and spreading with fresh butter ..

So simple and SO good! Makes 6 large scones and yes it’ll double if you want to ..

Responses

  1. I want one (or some)
    I love cheese scones

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

