Posted by: Joan Spiller | August 16, 2011

Pumpkin, feta & red onion savouries – Recipe


I enjoyed a grand total of 2 recipes from the Moroccan cookery classes taken a few months back. 1) Serpent cake  and 2) Briouats.

I didn’t blog about either of them ’til now mainly because .. well, I dunno. I do know that when everyone made theirs, I made mine differently than the recipe suggested and the teacher – (who was honest, even tho he was an awful tutor) even said they were lovely.

Anyway, last night I made these for CJ & I, and I thought I’d better share this simple and tasty snack. We had ours with a simple salad and some garlic bread. Bit of an odd blend but tis what we felt like.

All you need is some fresh filo pastry (don’t touch Edmonds – honestly, their pastry is just too hit and miss to risk it) – I used 4 sheets per triangle..

2c (measured raw) pumpkin – makes sufficient for 4 meals
100g feta
2t smoke paprika
1 red onion – finely diced
Butter – melted, for brushing the filo, I used approx 50g salted
Salt & Pepper

Slow roast the diced pumpkin in a little oil and butter. Season to taste ..  Once the pumpkin is soft  (circa 10 mins) add half the onion. Continue cooking for another 20 minutes until the pumpkin is caramelised and sweet.

Allow to cool 30 mins then add in the feta, the other half of the diced onion and mix thru the paprika. Voila, your mixture is ready!

Wrap in the filo sheets, buttering the edges well before sealing.. Bake in a pre-heated oven at 160 degs for 12-15mins / until golden.

Serve hot ..

Leave a Reply

Categories

