Posted by: Joan Spiller | August 23, 2011

Leek & Potato Quiche – Recipe


Cleaning the fridge out after CJ”s visit I found some pastry, 1 leek & 2 red spuds. I also have some gorgeous blue cheese, cream and eggs. Nothing to be done but whip up a quiche, obviously!

In this case it was flaky pastry – my preference for quiche crusts is savoury short pastry but we can work with flaky..  

As I put it together I’m of 2 minds about the blue cheese. Not because I don’t think it’ll be gorgeous but because I’d just like to eat it on some crackers 😉

Anyway, onto the recipe. It’s very simple – so do give it a whirl. And yes you could leave the blue cheese out and use any that you prefer.

I find edam grated into a quiche just fine. Or if you had some: gruyere. And of course, always a little freshly grated parmesan on top for added taste zing!

To make a quiche that would serve 6 large wedges you need:

Pastry
6 eggs
1c cream (sod the calories, it needs cream)
Cheese
Seasoning
Leeks, Spuds, Punkin (whatever you have .. )

First prepare the filling, starting with the leeks.

Slice into 4mm thick rounds and slowly cook them down in a mix of oil and butter – I will let you choose the qty. I use lots of grease, go figure. 1 leek would do fine in this dish and I’d use 50g butter and a slosh of oil to cook it. Once it’s melted in the pan (no colour) allow to cool.

Slice the spuds and cook in a little oil til they’re soft. Colour is ok on these but not critical.. Again: allow to cool.

Now we’ll prepare the crust..

Using either short savoury (or flaky in my case) rolled out 2mm thickness, line the base of a well buttered tin. Take the pastry up the sides at least 3 inches. It shrinks as it cooks and you don’t want the egg mixture pouring out into the oven!

Now I always – always – make my quiches in springform tins. It just makes lift SO much simpler when it comes time to serve. You can use whatever you want to but I suspect once you try the springform tin, you’ll stick with it!

In a large bowl. Beat eggs. Season with salt and pepper. Add the cream. Whisk together. Add parsley now if you want it – I like parsley in everything. Finely chopped..

Get the prepared dish from the fridge and layer the spuds & leeks. Or dump it all in – whatever works for you ..

Season between the layers tho k.

Crumble blue cheese in now, to taste. I used 100g and it was perfect!

Slosh the cream / egg mixture in and then bake in a pre-heated oven at 200 degs C for 15 mins then turn down to 180 degs C til the centre has set. Approx 30 mins I’d guess.. Depends on the size of the dish. Fan bake is fine, but drop the temps by 10 degs.

That’s it! Done ..

And trust me so so so delish. Add spinach, kumara (sweet spud) or pumpkin if you have it .. They all go well with this flavour combo!

Responses

  1. Oops… Just sorting out some kinks… My username definitely doesn’t link to my blog haha, sorry here it is – http://www.booksandbowls.wordpress.com

    Like

  2. This looks so good! I just had a look at your vegetarian recipes and they got me so excited! I just started my own blog, so I’m suuper new to this, but please take a look, I’d really appreciate any comments/tips/advice 🙂

    Like

  3. I adore quiche and this one sounds lovely. Thanks for sharing.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

