Posted by: Joan Spiller | October 6, 2011

Hot lemon sauce – Recipe


So a long ..long.. time ago I once knew a girl in New Orleans who gave me this recipe.. I’ve just recently found it after fretting it’d been long lost.. The sauce is only part of the recipe but I will type up the rest later.

Suffice to say if you like bread and butter pudding or lemon meringue pie – this recipe will cater to both!

Now I am not a big fan of bread pudding. Have had a few too many stodgy, sickly sweet slabs of “bread in egg” served up in my lifetime but this one seriously, is delicious. Try it and let me know what you think. Oh well, once I type it up anyway.

Meantime here is the sauce that gets poured over the hot bread pudding when you serve it. It can be used for all sorts of other desserts tho, so I figured I’d post it separately for now.

1 c white sugar
2 T corn starch (Cornflour)
1 & 1/2 c water
Zest of 1 lemon
Juice of 1 lemon (about 2 1/2 T)
2 T butter

Blend sugar, cornstarch and water in a sauce pan. Bring to a boil over med-high heat. Stirring now and then..

Cook 2 – 3 min until mixture is thickened.

Remove from heat and add lemon zest, lemon juice and butter.

Serve warm..

 

 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. […] Orleans Bread Pudding – Recipe Recently I posted a recipe for a delicious hot lemon sauce that should be served alongside this dessert. I believe to be 100% authentic, one should serve it […]

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

