Posted by: Joan Spiller | June 9, 2013

Shortcrust pastry – Recipe


I had planned to use my sister in law’s sour cream pastry recipe but don’t have sour cream (or her recipe, must call and beg for it later!) so instead I made my old stand by one and it’s perfect, as usual. It’s such a simple thing to do for all it sounds scary “making pastry”.

Key things to remember: Heat is the devil til it’s in the oven!

Use a marble work surface if you can. Chill your hands by holding them in iced water before working the dough. And act quickly whenever handling the dough. I cannot tell you how important resting it in the fridge is, fail to do this simple step – fail to make nice pastry. I’ve rushed it before and regretted it ..

Anyway lectures aside, here is what you need:

  • 125g/4oz high grade white flour
  • pinch of salt
  • 55g/2oz butter, cubed
  • 30-45ml/2-3 T ice cold water
Now like I said, it’s quite simple, but you MUST follow the instructions if you want successful pastry ..

  1. Put the flour and salt in a large bowl and add the cubes of butter. I chill both the bowl and the butter before making this but you don’t have to. Just don’t use warm butter!
  2. Use your fingertips to rub the butter into the flour until you have a mixture that resembles coarse breadcrumbs with no large lumps of butter remaining. Try to work quickly so that it does not become greasy. If you feel it is melting in your bowl chuck it in the fridge and have a cuppa then get back to it..
  3. Using a bread and butter (again I chill mine) knife, stir in just enough of the cold water to bind the dough together.
  4. Wrap the dough in clingfilm and chill for 10-15 minutes before using.

That’s it, didn’t I tell you it was simple?

I am going to use this to make my goat cheese roast beetroot tart .. that recipe will be next 🙂

Responses

  1. […] my home made buttery short pastry rolled as thiiiiiin as I could get it (I actually put it back in the fridge during the rolling out […]

    Like

  2. If you find the sour cream recipe, I’d love to see it; I’m thinking that my kefir ‘ cream cheese’ would work for that . . .

    Like

    • I will email her right now and beg for it!!

      Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

