Posted by: Joan Spiller | September 29, 2013

Spiced pear cake – Recipe


I first tried this amazing (rate it as one of my top 3 to make AND eat!) cake when a lovely friend of mine made it and was nice enough to share .. served cold, dusted in icing sugar with a dollop of whipped cream it was sublime. Hot out of the oven with the same treatment it’s an amazing dessert. So a very versatile recipe, indeed!

Originally titled “Springfield Pear cake” due to the fact it’s a Ruth Pretty recipe, I have modified it a little hence the name change and also cos Springfield only means something to anyone who’s been to Ruth’s place whereas this title clearly explains the type of cake.

My version contains different booze to Ruth’s, as well, I’ve added ground (dry) ginger & cinnamon to the recipe. The original recipe calls for Whiskey and no ginger. So, over to you which way you go with it!

Ingredients:

1&1/2c sultanas
1c water
3c peeled and diced pears
1/2c whiskey, masala or rum (I’ve only ever used rum or masala – rum you can taste in the cake, masala not so much)
1&1/2t baking soda

190g butter
1c and 3T sugar
2 large free range eggs
1t vanilla essence

2&1/2c plain white flour
1T baking powder
1t cinnamon
1t ginger
1t mixed spice
1t ground cloves

This happens in 3 stages as per the splits in the ingredients.

Bring the sultanas and water to a simmer, let them bubble away for 5 mins. Add the pears, baking soda and booze then turn off the heat, cover and leave to cool.

Cream the butter and sugar before adding the other ingredients. This looks like it will curdle easily, so I add a teaspoon of flour with each egg and that helps prevent curdling.

Gently combine the wet with the dry and bake in a pre-heated 180 deg oven for approx 45 mins til cooked.

I line the baking tin but don’t think it’s critical, greasing it would be tho!

So yeah, it’s that simple and omg soooo good!!

Serve dusted with icing sugar and served with soft whipped cream.

Big thanks to Kaye!

Responses

  1. […] my incredible / generous friends, Donna & Bernie – a slab of cake and some sausage rolls seem a lousy exchange for the warm house you’ve guaranteed me […]

    Like

  2. I wish I found this yesterday when I was hunting to do with some pears I had sitting around…. instead I made pear tarte tartan- Ill keep this saved for next time such a situation arises 🙂

    Like

    • I have yet to make tart tatin, did it work well with the pears? I plan to use apples in mine ..

      And trust me, this cake is sublime so I hope you do try it 🙂

      Like

      • Yes it was delicious! A real hit for dessert, I will store it away for next time I have a pear-emergency!

        Like

      • oh good to know, right you’ve inspired me – I am off to buy the ingredients and whip this up today! Thank you!

        Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

