Posted by: Joan Spiller | November 20, 2013

Bruschetta – Recipe


I thought I would share my all time fave lunch of the moment. Tomatoes are in abundance and while it’s too hot to spend long cooking I still want tasty (and healthy!) food!

Enter bruschetta.

In order to facilitate this easy meal I buy a loaf of good quality ciabatta or sour dough, cut it into “meal-sized” portions then free-flow freeze it. That way any time I want bruschetta, I simply get out a portion of bread, leave it to thaw and can be eating yum-ness within 40 minutes if I am rushing.

What I’ve taken to doing though, is actually putting the tomatoes and a bit of finely diced chilli in a bowl with some salt, pepper and extra virgin olive oil and leaving it for a few hours .. so in other words I make lunch at breakfast time!

For all the tomato collapses a bit, the taste is worth it and I recommend this over fresh chopped tomatoes, any day!

So, like I said it’s simple:

Chop up some tomato (1 decent sized tomato and an inch of chilli makes enough for a good sized meal), slug in some oil, salt and pepper. Set aside (covered but not chilled) for up to 4 hours.

When you want to eat, pre heat a pan .. drizzle a tiny bit of oil into the pan and ‘grill’ the bread .. I’ve tried a dry pan, it’s fine but it is harder to clean hence the oil..

Add in any herbs now (to the tomato mix, in the pics here I’ve sliced in 3 basil leaves).

When the bread is cooked, rub a little raw garlic on it (only a little or it tastes bitter and nasty!) pile the tomato mix on top and serve .. It doesn’t need oil, seasoning or anything because you did that earlier!

IMG_8737IMG_8740IMG_8741IMG_8743

Oh and you can mix or match as you please .. for one meal I had some avocado so I added that underneath the tomatoes – DELISH! I would also smear soft goat cheese on the toasted bread .. or melt mozz cheese on it .. or feta mashed up with a little sour cream and lemon zest + pepper ..

IMG_8744
But the simple one is delish, if you can’t be bothered with additions ..

Enjoy!

PS there’s only one tablespoon of oil in that pic above, the salt draws the moisture out of the tomatoes and you get this feisty, tasty juice to pour over the bread, it’s amazing!!

Leave a Reply

Categories

