Posted by: Joan Spiller | July 6, 2014

Call me Dr Doolittle?


So much has been going on here at the menagerie, I thought I should fill you in on what I’ve been up to! Most of you will know that I bought this place on a bit of a whim. I won’t go into details on that, if you’re interested, you can click here to find out more.

Since the last update, I’ve been busy for all I finished work in Wellington as planned on 30 August. Tis fair to say I have adapted to being an unemployed bum WAY too well 😉 But there is so much to do here, a day doesn’t ever get boring! More, at times it gets a bit daunting – as I’ve said before, I think this place is designed to help teach me patience!

Unsurprisingly, I’ve acquired a few new pets since moving here.

Originally we had me, CJ, 3 cats and 2 dogs.

Now we have me, 2 cats, 3 dogs (Abby joined the pack) 10 chicks, 3 kids (goats) and of course, we have the magnificent Archie and Bella., my lawn mooers.

bratpack
Meet Sam, Billy and Josh.

I will tell the story of how I ended up with them in a sep post some time .. suffice to say they’re gorgeous little time wasters and I am madly in love with them..

CJ and Gerry
This is Gerry asleep in CJs hand the first day we bought the mystery chicks. Sadly, Gerry was unwell and I had to have him put down just last week. The vet was very kind as I stood blubbering while they euthanased my lil pal.

He’s now living under a pretty hydrangea bush in pride of place – the gateway to the property. Thankfully, the other hens are happy and healthy. Be awhile til we get eggs but that’s OK, it’s neat having them grow up while we watch. Refer earlier time waster comment .. I have way too many of them around here!!

Mygirls
Here they are in their day pen. They’re a mix of breeds. Some are silkies, so will be compact and very feathery .. others are bantam crosses .. they’re all different and quite pretty .. I look forward to when they’re in the paddock visible from my kitchen window!

Right now they share accom with the goats .. the boys sleep in this (above) pen at night and spend their days in what will eventually be the hen paddock. And the hens spend their days free ranging in the goat pen but get tucked up in a big dog cage where they perch overnight, works well!

I have a kitset house laying in the paddock waiting to be built .. another project needing attention, you can see why I am not blogging much? 😉

Abby
Abby is growing like a weed! At 4 and a half months old she dwarfs (and sasses!) poor Roxy. The dobermann has adapted (albeit sometimes with a pained look on her face) well to being a big sister AGAIN .. I’ve noticed she is less tolerant of Abby than she was of Roxy – as tho somehow she knew Roxy needed TLC whereas Abby is a bratty kid who needs taking down a peg or two at times.

When they rough play together outside it’s almost scary to watch .. but they are becoming great mates which is neat ..

 walkies

Resting in the paddocks during walk time ..

CJ and Tim  2

And we have yet another addition coming to stay .. CJ’s lovely boyfriend Tim is moving in 🙂 They did the long distance thing for a year, but didn’t enjoy it – so Tim has found work here and starts in January .. I know they will be happy to be together again!

What other news is there ..

hmm I’ve started making my own butter, that is a treat (not cheap but so tasty!) I’ve been half-heartedly looking for work – without much success. There isn’t much call for a senior project manager in Palmy, so I am having to be patient and keep an ear out for any opportunity that may arise.

I have a few ideas on how to make enough money to live without the need for a full time stressful job, time will tell how I get on..

Oh yeah I’ve been busy planting stuff too!
IMG_8002

This is some heirloom tomatoes slowly coming to life in egg trays a couple of months ago .. They’re almost big enough to be transplanted which is exciting..

I’ve been trawling garden centres and shops looking for bargains and purchased lemon trees, passionfruit vines (5!) apple and pear trees, a bay tree, rhubarb plants, as well as growing from seed some capsicums, tomatoes, parsley, sunflowers, nasturtiums, mint and rosemary!

I am going to scatter seedlings around the yard so they grow wild .. it should be cool. Assuming the goats don’t find them!

So there you have it, a bit of an update on what is keeping me from posting too often .. I suspect I may turn into a bad-weather blogger, as this sunny fine weather means I am always outside doing assorted chores ..

Or sitting watching the goats while I have a wine *grin*

Responses

  1. What a lovely group you have!!!!

    Like

    • thanks, I love my little slice of paradise, even on days when everything goes wrong, there’s something that will make me smile 🙂

      Like

  2. It all sounds rather lovely and you sound in your element there 🙂

    Like

    • Ah I am in heaven, that is the truth. And such a surprise too – as no one (incl me!) expected this lol

      Like

      • lol, you innocently buy a piece of land and strange things start happening 🙂 Good on you, it’s an exciting change 🙂

        Like

  3. The goats look so adorable! You have a wonderfully full house. Tomato seedlings are impressive in the egg cartons. I always enjoy your posts.

    Like

    • Thank you! They are gorgeous, and way cheekier than when I first got them. I should post a video of their antics, it’s quite adorable!

      Like

      • Look forward to that! 🙂

        Like

      • OK I will deliver, soon (ish) 😉

        Thanks for the comment!

        Like

  4. Nothing surprises me but the goats!. I did not know they were in the plans.. By looks of the grass they are not doing their job! Hi to CJ and friend.

    Like

    • LOL James they’re adorable!! They can’t keep up with my gorgeous lush pastures tho, between them and the cows I still have way too much! It’s a good position to be in though 🙂

      Like

  5. you sound happy!

    Like

    • Thanks yeah, I am very content, and that is a nice feeling 😉

      Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

