Posted by: Joan Spiller | July 31, 2014

Easy self-saucing chocolate pudding – Recipe


I confess, I’ve had mixed success with self-saucing puds in the past. Sometimes the top ‘over’ rises and isn’t spongey but goes more cakey (for all it still tastes good), other times the sauce randomly soaks into the mixture and I serve a very (very, very) moist chocolate cake for dessert.

And of course, there are the times it works beautifully and I serve an airy gorgeous pudding with lashings of chocolatey sauce. There’s NO reason for the variance that I can work out – it just happens and I guess I am telling you this in case it happens to you! If it still tastes good, but doesn’t work out perfectly, it may not be your doing!

This recipe was given to me back in the 80’s and I’ve modified it a little (to simplify it) so here it is, Joan’s saucy choc pudding recipe:

Ingredients:

1c plain white flour
3t baking powder
4T cocoa powder*
1/2c white sugar
2 eggs – lightly beaten
1c milk
85g melted butter
1t vanilla essence
pinch salt

plus..

1c white sugar
1c boiling water
2T cocoa powder

*Best you can afford, it does make a difference when it’s the main flavour for the dish.

Preheat your oven to 180 degs C

Melt butter. Allow to cool before whisking with the eggs, add vanilla essence and milk.
Sift dry ingredients (yes even the sugar) into the wet mixture and stir gently but well.

Pour into a greased dish.

Mix the additional sugar and cocoa together, sprinkle evenly over the pudding then top with boiling water. It looks terrible but don’t panic!
rich-chocolate-self-saucing-pudding-8

Bake for 40 or so minutes, til the top of the pudding springs back when you poke it.

Serve dusted with icing sugar, with generous dollops of whipped cream and / or ice cream.
choc-self-saucing-pudding

PS I’ve left the batter to sit (ie without the sauce ingreds added to it) for a couple of hours before cooking and it works fine if you wanted to do this ..

Enjoy!

 

Responses

  1. Hello!

    My name is Joanna and I have read your blog and I really liked your recipes! I work for a website called myTaste.com and I would love for you to join us!

    http://www.mytaste.com is a search engine that collects food blogs. We already have over 3000 blogs and if you join us you will take benefit from the trafic that we are sending to your blog.

    Add our widget and hopefully with your recipes your blog will be on the top of the food blogs list!
    If you have any questions please don’t hesitate to contact me at info@mytaste.com

    To join myTaste, just go to http://www.mytaste.com/add-your-food-blog

    Best regards, Joanna
    mytaste.com

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

