Posted by: Joan Spiller | May 7, 2016

Moist Feijoa Cake – Recipe


I love this highly perfumed fruit. But apart from gorging oneself on them raw, it can be hard to know how use them. Muffins, cakes & chutneys are my preference. What are yours?

I’ve got a really good chutney recipe if you’re keen to give it a go, I highly recommend it, as do a lot of others .. It’s feisty, it’s tasty and it’s easy to make! My kinda cooking : )

However for something sweet – you can’t beat this simple cake recipe! (Note the theme? I like simple, good food!)

Ingredients:

125g softened butter
1 c white sugar
2 large free-range eggs
1 t vanilla essence
1/2 c milk
1 & ¼ c white high grade flour
2 t baking powder
1t mixed spice
2 c peeled & halved feijoa (Simply cut in half and scoop out the innards)

Topping:

2T brown sugar mixed with 2T pecans and 1t cinnamon (Can sub in walnuts but James will kill me for saying this!) 🙂

Method:

Beat butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs and beat s’more.

Sift flour, spice and baking powder into the egg and sugar mixture.

Gently fold milk into the batter. Lastly add the vanilla essence.

Be careful not to over mix the batter here. Delicate is good! And a little visible flour won’t kill the cake, trust me.

Pour into a greased and lined 20x30cm deep cake tin.

Place feijoas on the surface of the cake batter, pointed end down, pushing til the top is level with the cake batter.

Sprinkle with the sugar / nut & spice mixture.

Bake at 180 degrees C for 50 minutes or until cake springs back when lightly touched. It can vary so don’t be set on 50 mins, check it from 45 onwards and STAY strong!

Serve warm or cold.

If warm: serve with softly whipped cream. If cold: dust with icing sugar.

Or do both? 😉


Responses

  1. Awww Joan it looks absolutely wonderful… Lets see if I can find fresh feijoas here and bake such a thing!

    Like

  2. We love this cake here. I use walnuts if I have them, sometimes no nuts at all. It’s a lovely recipe thanks.

    Like

  3. Hi Joan. I’ve just returned from Tauranga with a big bag of very ugly fejoas. Will try your recipe and see if it beats my favourite dessert cake – Annabelle White’s best ever fejoa (or pear) cake (with ground almonds and sour cream).

    I’m going to try to set up a lunch with Mike when Bernadette stops off for a couple of days with me in late June. If you are in Wellie then, maybe you’d like to join us?

    Love your blog.

    Jenny

    Like

    • Jenny, this went into spam for some reason so I only saw it now after I approved it, most odd. Some days I do dislike WP LOL

      Hope you liked the recipe? The AW cake you mention sounds amazing!!?

      It’s unlikely I will be in Welly but I can certainly try to be – do you have a date yet??

      Hope all is well with you?

      Like

  4. If you are not going to use pecans you might as well use peanuts. Can’t hurt it anymore than walnuts(G)..

    Like

    • LMo @ NOT USING pecans, you’re such a poo disturber, Mr W!

      Like


Leave a comment

Categories